Alone without the boy…

Kalanchoe

My boy is away for a few days visiting his grandparents that live around 2 hours away. He doesn’t get to see them very often maybe a few times a year during school holidays. Right up until the moment his Nana was about to leave with him he was saying “Are you sure you are going to be ok? I can cancel this if you like?” Life is a lot harder at the moment but I do have my mum just 10 mins away and friends close by – I don’t want him to ever feel that he has to stay home to look after me. I will just live very simply for a few days – as I am unable to cook at the moment with my left hand just not being able to hold anything. I have prepared ahead of time to make sure I have meals that can just go in the microwave and that aren’t too difficult to open with one hand 🙂

Jacob has to be able to have his life – that he can go away without stressing about me. My personal carer starts tomorrow morning – she will be here 3 days a week – Monday, Wednesday and Friday and I believe that will have to help with his stress as well – having someone here for an hour – most days. She will shower, shampoo, dry and dress me. To be completely honest, this was a really hard to let go of. At 42 I never dreamed that I would need someone to shower me? I guess sometimes I would wonder what the future would hold for me with CRPS and I had mentally planned for wheelchairs and carers but I still thought this would be some time into the future. I am more than happy to have someone come in once a fortnight to clean etc..that is brilliant and takes a little stress off Jacob but I guess I never forsaw me having to be showered a year and a half into this illness. The pain I go through showering myself is off the chart and I have never been able to work out why? I know that I need to use my left hand a lot..twisting and holding things but now I am starting to think it is the vibration and the temperature of the water. I am open for suggestions as to what I can put over my wrist when I am being showered. I was thinking of somehow cutting both ends out of a a 2L milk carton and somehow attaching it a la a “Wonder Womans” magic cuffs! But I can’t work out how to do it.

So all in all I face my personal carer tomorrow…I hope we hit it off as we will be spending a lot of time together.

Aside

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nayleen Abbott
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 22:41:56

    this is a really good idea Sharon, documenting it all gives me a much better idea of what you are going through. I knew it was rough and you knew you have lots of freinds. Just give me a call and let me know what you need.. love you babe.. Nayleen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

justpaintandplay

Journey of self discovery by Teresa Low Art

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Kaisercraft Official Blog

Inspiring Craft Ideas

EJ Creative Flair

Alternative Jewellery with Heart & Soul

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Living Life Beyond Disability

A World Of Pain....Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

College on Crutches

Rambles of a college girl with RSD/CRPS...welcome to my world.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Paulette's Blog

A Place of Worship: "Tugging at the Heartstrings of God"

Attack of the CRaPS

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

CHRONIC

A Day in the Life....

Musings of a Dysautonomiac

Living life one pill organizer compartment at a time.

jenusingwordpress

Because love and affection is always better from strangers.

lady migraine 365

Trying hard to find my way with a headache nearly every day

In Loving Memory Of Jody Ann Bales

All about living life and dying from chronic pain

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Research and articles related to Chronic Pain from Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome & Fibromyalgia

RSDiary

Just another cavalcade of random bitching... ***Updates SUNDAYS

