My First Day with a Personal Carer

530275_463453327044756_1173527577_n

Yesterday was my first visit with the Personal Carer. I guess it seems like Jake and I have been muddling through for many more months than I would care to admit to – on our own. With maximum support from my mum, frozen meals and groceries from my friends. It has been many months where I just seemed to feel really angry and frustrated – I was struggling with many things and wasn’t willing to admit that change was needed. A friend I spoke to in a class said to me a few months ago “When you actually let go of the fact that you do not function the way you use to and stop fighting it – life becomes easier when you have accepted the change” My Psychologist had been working on me for weeks – to me all I kept seeing was the picture of me in a few years from now in a disastrous situation. She kept saying to me “Keep your head here and realise that you have to move to Stage 2 – don’t look ahead to Stage 10 because you cannot possibly predict what that will be” Putting these wise words together from 2 different sources made me finally realise that I had to stop the struggle and let it go. It is not that I don’t have people ready and willing to help – I am so very blessed to have such incredible friends and family.

So from that moment, I started getting information on what help I could get. I really had no idea that there was Assisted Living options for under 55’s – I also did not think I would be eligible for the help. Within a matter of weeks I have been able to organise a personal carer to come in 3 times a week to shower me and fortnightly 2 hour visits to vaccum, mop, clean the bathrooms, strip the beds and hang out some washing. This poor old house will be probably the cleanest it ever has been since we have been living here 🙂

I am also eligible for an Occupational Therapist to visit from Bluecare to help organise the house in a way that lessens the struggle. The kitchen is a massive ball of frustration – having to move everything one by one and put it on the counter to get to the one thing you need at the back, then put all the other things back in one by one to find you can’t open the jar without help anyways let alon

My personal carer arrived yesterday and she was wonderful – to be absolutely honest having to let go of the fact that you need someone to shower you was very difficult for me. At 42, this is really not I imagined my life to be. We chatted the whole time which was a great diversion for my pain too and after it was all said and done – I couldn’t believe the difference in my pain. Showers have been absolute hell for many months – no way to start your day and I will put it off for hours and…um…sometimes days…well day.

My friend came over with her gorgeous young girl we went to the beach and had lunch out. Such a perfect day with my perfect friend and my pain well and truly under control – I felt semi-normal and that really is a feeling that I need to grab on to.

Definitely a moment for my “Happiness Jar”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chiquitar
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 16:19:37

    Hi Shazz! Thanks for coming by my blog, and I think yours is great! I was able to put some of my disability pay towards having someone come clean my house and it’s really made a huge difference. I too struggle with showers, and while I usually can at least run a bath and get at least clean-ish from the neck down, The Washing of the Hair is a trial that has been put off for up to a week at times. (It does help my hair dye last longer, and I’ve done braids for a month before, but anything longer than 3 days and I feel a bit yucky) It’s nice to hear I’m not the only one who struggles with this, and that accepting help can turn out so nicely =-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

justpaintandplay

Journey of self discovery by Teresa Low Art

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Kaisercraft Official Blog

Inspiring Craft Ideas

EJ Creative Flair

Alternative Jewellery with Heart & Soul

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Living Life Beyond Disability

A World Of Pain....Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

College on Crutches

Rambles of a college girl with RSD/CRPS...welcome to my world.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Paulette's Blog

A Place of Worship: "Tugging at the Heartstrings of God"

Attack of the CRaPS

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

CHRONIC

A Day in the Life....

Musings of a Dysautonomiac

Living life one pill organizer compartment at a time.

jenusingwordpress

Because love and affection is always better from strangers.

lady migraine 365

Trying hard to find my way with a headache nearly every day

In Loving Memory Of Jody Ann Bales

All about living life and dying from chronic pain

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Research and articles related to Chronic Pain from Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome & Fibromyalgia

RSDiary

Just another cavalcade of random bitching... ***Updates SUNDAYS

