The Spoon Theory

Spoons

I wanted to share with you a story that was shared with me in a Mind Body Class I was taking at the Royal Brisbane Hospital. As I am not to copy the story, I have added the link for you to enjoy. It really is a story that I carry with me everyday and I measure my days in spoons.

Of course that may not make sense to a lot of people reading – but the story I share with you was written by a lady called Christine Miserandino who now has an enormously popular website running now called “But you don’t look sick” For many people suffering Chronic Pain you become masters of hiding the day in and day out pain to the extent that people that don’t know you very well, would hardly be able to grasp the amount of pain you are going through while laughing and smiling during a conversation with them. My good friends and family pick up those signs and gently help me to safety – my son is amazing – sometimes I just phaze out where people start to talk in another language (or so I think) to find 10 minutes later I am wearing my TENS machine and all but ready for me to turn on. Isn’t he amazing? Other friends will notice a wince, a rub of my hand – or just not being able to find a simple word – a word that you could use everyday but at the moment you have no re-collection of what it could be. These amazing people around me gently suggest – “Do you want to go lie down?” “Can I get you something” I love you my favourite people – you know me so well šŸ™‚

So the short version of “The Spoon Theory” is that Christine (who suffers Fibromyalgia) in her younger years was at a cafe with a good friend and her friend asked “Tell me, what is the pain like?” and of course like we all do in Chronic Pain just tried to shuffle her off with a generalisation. This day her friend would not take “no” for an answer and asked her again “What is the pain really like?” Christine looks around the table and finds a glass containing teaspoons. She pulls out 12 spoons, hands them to her friend and says “Everyday I have the equivalent of 12 spoons to get me through to bedtime. For each activity I chose for my day will cost me 1 spoon. For example, to make the choice to meet you today costs spoons, so you must give me a spoon for each task I have completed to get here today”. Her friend became quite excited by the game and handed over 1 teaspoon. “No No No” Christine says “You have to give me a teaspoon for EVERY task I have completed to be here today. You owe me a spoon for just be able to get out of bed, a spoon for a showering, a spoon for putting my clothes on, a spoon for doint my hair and putting some makeup on, a spoon to have breakfast, a spoon for making my way here” Now her friend realises that she has to give away HALF of her spoons and it is only morning!!

So anyway please read the story it is amazing. My day is broken up into spoons. If I chose to spend time with my special people, it means that you are very much worth HALF of my daily spoons – that’s what you mean to me. Some days you will try and pinch spoons from the next day – which leaves you short on that day. Some days you have run out of spoons before the afternoon and there are no spoons to make dinner, wash the dishes, wathc tv…they are prices you pay for chosing your spoons in the way that you did that day.

Really inspirational stuff…..

Aside

Leave a Reply

justpaintandplay

Journey of self discovery by Teresa Low Art

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Kaisercraft Official Blog

Inspiring Craft Ideas

EJ Creative Flair

Alternative Jewellery with Heart & Soul

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Living Life Beyond Disability

A World Of Pain....Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

College on Crutches

Rambles of a college girl with RSD/CRPS...welcome to my world.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Paulette's Blog

A Place of Worship: "Tugging at the Heartstrings of God"

Attack of the CRaPS

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

CHRONIC

A Day in the Life....

Musings of a Dysautonomiac

Living life one pill organizer compartment at a time.

jenusingwordpress

Because love and affection is always better from strangers.

lady migraine 365

Trying hard to find my way with a headache nearly every day

In Loving Memory Of Jody Ann Bales

All about living life and dying from chronic pain

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Research and articles related to Chronic Pain from Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome & Fibromyalgia

RSDiary

Just another cavalcade of random bitching... ***Updates SUNDAYS

