If you only knew…

imagesCAX0E3ZQI have again decided to try and apply for a Disability Pension it is substantially more money. I tried just over 10 weeks ago (which is the cut off for appeal) and was knocked back, it seemed their “Point System” said I was not disbabled enough but the officer that reviewed me completely disagreed. When I phoned disability to ask how I would appeal the girl on the phone advised me it probably wasn’t worth it because I had just been to a Pain Management Program for 10 days in hospital and they wanted to see if I could improve my quality of life and gave me til January to do so.

So as of the 21st December I have been in a severe pain flare 40 days ago. I hate to have to say it but I really think this is the “New Normal” and the reason I say this is that Brisbane has had severe weather from an Ex Cyclone in which we lost power for just under 48 hours and my pain has flared – worse than before. It is pain that if someone told me if I stuck a knitting needle in my eye to relieve the pain then I would stick one in both.

So a few weeks ago I rang for new paperwork and got a really helpful woman on the phone, I told her that I now had a carer come in to shower me and that my left hand was more useless than before. She was rather mortified on my behalf that I was told not to appeal the last decision so she went through the form with me on the phone question by question and gave me the “exact” answer they would require. She then said if for some reason they knock you back again you need to appeal and appeal – don’t let this go.

I received my appointment time for someone to review me, and as it was so early on a Wednesday morning I had to cancel my carer to shower me and do it myself. I was not in any shape to front up at Centrelink but I guess that is the way they need to see you. 2 days of flare and over an hour and a half to shower and dress. The pain was just awful, I took a handful of pills for breakfast. The phone rings only minutes before my mum and I were going to leave. It was Centrelink saying the Assessor was sick and they would have to change the day. I just burst into tears. I told her between sobs that I was ready and in so much pain. She said “Well it’s probably a good thing for you that you can rest up today” I told her it had taken me close to 2 hours to get ready. I was sobbing like a baby. My appointment is next week but now my carer can do the showering.

I got off the phone and I just couldn’t stop sobbing – Centrelink – always Centrelink that puts me through these ridiculous appointments over and over with no idea how hard it is to get there. If you don’t go they threaten you that your money will be cut off. One time I fronted up in the same condition to find 25mins after my appointment was to start and I made it through to the top of the queue that my appoinment had been cancelled – they just didn’t let me know. Yesterday I told myself that all going well this would be the last time in 2 years that I would be there – that’s how I tried to get through my pain in the shower.

If only they cared how much effort it took to get there and hard they make it for honest people.

 

stock-vector-typewriter-32591743

Image

Leave a Reply

justpaintandplay

Journey of self discovery by Teresa Low Art

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Kaisercraft Official Blog

Inspiring Craft Ideas

EJ Creative Flair

Alternative Jewellery with Heart & Soul

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Living Life Beyond Disability

A World Of Pain....Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

College on Crutches

Rambles of a college girl with RSD/CRPS...welcome to my world.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Paulette's Blog

A Place of Worship: "Tugging at the Heartstrings of God"

Attack of the CRaPS

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

CHRONIC

A Day in the Life....

Musings of a Dysautonomiac

Living life one pill organizer compartment at a time.

jenusingwordpress

Because love and affection is always better from strangers.

lady migraine 365

Trying hard to find my way with a headache nearly every day

In Loving Memory Of Jody Ann Bales

All about living life and dying from chronic pain

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Research and articles related to Chronic Pain from Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome & Fibromyalgia

RSDiary

Just another cavalcade of random bitching... ***Updates SUNDAYS

