Lignocaine Infusions

Lotus2 As I make preparations for my upcoming Lignocaine Infusions on Wednesday and my health for the rest of the week – I ponder.

I have to fast for 6 hours before each infusion (1 infusions daily for 3 days), the infusion will take 30 minutes and your recovery 30 mins up to 2 hours. You have to be monitored for 24 hours after each infusion by an adult. You are unable to drive any machinery, catch public transport or sign important documents. All I really know from the Pain Doctor is that is called the “Truth Serum” that you want to tell anyone your deepest darkest secrets and you can become quite teary. I find it really difficult to have searched the internet high and wide and really have not turned over too much information on Lignocaine Infusions for Neuropathic pain. I have seen cases where it was used very successfully for people with migraines but we are really comparing apples and oranges.

To prepare for the week my elderly mum will drive me in and out of the hospital about a 40 minute drive away and she will stay with me probably stay until dinner time and then go home. My responsible adult after this time will be my 14 year old (wise beyond his years). I have asked him to set his alarm around 2 or 3am and just come in wake me up and check up on me. My mum will then be back the next morning around 5.30am to help me shower if I need her to.

I don’t know what to expect at all, which is a slightly daunting feeling. Could just putting the needle into that part of my hand cause a massive flare? Could the local anaesthetic give me instant relief as did the Steroid injections I had mid last year? Will I have absolutely no pain relief at all? Will I have pain relief for hours, days, weeks, months. I have decided that during each procedure I will use my meditation techniques to visualise the Lignocaine flowing through my veins and easing my pain as it makes it’s way through my body. Yes I am sure that to many that sounds either nutty or weird but I want to believe the power of positive suggestions and it costs me nothing and the effects could be very promising.

Keep everything crossed for me…..thankyou!

 

Image

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Derby
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 00:03:20

    Hi Shazz will be thinking of you on Wednesday and sending all my positive thoughts to you for success and pain relief
    Kazz
    Xxxx

    Reply

  2. Rosemary
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 13:59:53

    Thinking of you Sharon, I hope it helps for a long time. Keep positive and if it doesn’t help at least you have tried!

    Reply

  3. mybeautfulthings
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 04:38:13

    I’ve been thinking about you and hope that you have had some relief from your pain through this treatment. Love to you 🙂

    Reply

    • shazzagirl70
      Mar 11, 2013 @ 15:56:44

      Thanks so much for your well wishes. Unfortunately the treatment was unsuccessful and the last of the 3 treatments was cancelled as I was not responding to it. Urgh..thank you for you love Sally. Again I look at your beautful things and you blog truly does bring me joy. Thankyou. xx

      Reply

      • Rosemary
        Mar 11, 2013 @ 20:31:29

        So sorry the treatment didn’t work, at leasy you have given it a go.

      • shazzagirl70
        Mar 12, 2013 @ 11:40:15

        Thanks Rosemary yes you are right about giving it a go. I read some lovely posts this morning from my mates at RSD Oz and that is the general consensus you just have to keep trying otherwise you will never know. Thanks for stopping by and I appreciate you words.

Leave a Reply

justpaintandplay

Journey of self discovery by Teresa Low Art

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Kaisercraft Official Blog

Inspiring Craft Ideas

EJ Creative Flair

Alternative Jewellery with Heart & Soul

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Living Life Beyond Disability

A World Of Pain....Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

College on Crutches

Rambles of a college girl with RSD/CRPS...welcome to my world.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Paulette's Blog

A Place of Worship: "Tugging at the Heartstrings of God"

Attack of the CRaPS

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

CHRONIC

A Day in the Life....

Musings of a Dysautonomiac

Living life one pill organizer compartment at a time.

jenusingwordpress

Because love and affection is always better from strangers.

lady migraine 365

Trying hard to find my way with a headache nearly every day

In Loving Memory Of Jody Ann Bales

All about living life and dying from chronic pain

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Research and articles related to Chronic Pain from Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome & Fibromyalgia

RSDiary

Just another cavalcade of random bitching... ***Updates SUNDAYS

