Mst Shazz’z Birthday Card

Jacob birthday1

Wow this was a really big job I have spent around 6 hours.  Of course I wanted it to be exactly perfect for him. I was trying to use 1 of the tags on the front of the card to put money in it but everytime I pulled it apart slightly to put money in, it was either bending the card to creasing point or falling apart at the seams. Instead I decided to put a pocket for money inside instead.

Very happy with the way it has turned out – I hope he things so too 🙂

Image

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wobblywife
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 09:24:37

    Your cards are amazing Shazz – you have a real talent there. Do you find it therapeutic with the CRPS? Sorry if that’s a personal question, I’m just considering taking (or re-taking) up an art form again and am trying to work out if it might help xx

    Reply

    • shazzagirl70
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 13:14:21

      Hi there thanks for finding me. No not a personal question at all. It was actually suggested to me that I find a hobby so I could have “fun” time. The “big people” in the Pain Centre strongly advise it. I really wasn’t sure what I was going to do with myself because I have always been an avid (closet) knitter – everytime I sat down. I have CRPS in my left hand and it has been impossible to get back to – so somehow I started making cards. Yes there are things that I can’t do but doing something creative is a really great diversion from the pain and it really does work. You most definitely should get back to it…what are you thinking of starting again?

      Reply

  2. wobblywife
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 00:22:14

    Hi Shazz – it’s great that your pain centre think outside of the medical world “box” when it comes to your pain! I have heard similar off others, I hope my pain clinic will eventually get there too. I’m hoping to do a “pain management programme” if I get offered the chance through them, and I know they are less medical in their approach. I used to draw and paint, my mum and uncle are artists so I was brought up under that umbrella of encouragement. I used to be quite good, but I gave it up many years ago. I worry now that I won’t have the patience through the pain as I am a perfectionist and get frustrated by it not being “right”, something “proper” artists get past I suppose. Maybe I should try the abstract work like my mum paints, then there are no “mistakes” to be made!! My nanna taught me to knit when I was little and I tried again when I was laid up after surgery – I can do the basics but that’s about it. I’d really like to try pottery/sculpture too but would need a base to do that at. I think it might be useful for me to go to an adult learner’s course or two, the evening classes, and try a few things and see which floats my boat! In the meantime I am going to join my daughter in baking and making some bracelets and things (she’s hoping to raise some money for a local charity that helps my husband – he is blind) just to keep me busy. I absolutely love your cards, you should be very proud of your talent! xxx

    Reply

    • shazzagirl70
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 21:34:39

      Thanks so much I am really enjoying making the cards so it really is an outlet . I think most definately you should get back to your painting, yes if you are a perfectionist you will have your challenges. I must admit that I am taking a whole new outlook on my cards and it is not rushing for the finished product rather just enjoying every moment of fun time so I think that is helping immensely. Your daughter sounds gorgeous what a beautiful thing to do for her dad, you must be so proud of her. xx

      Reply

  3. wobblywife
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 00:51:29

    Hi Shazz – yeah Connie’s great, she’s always been a “nurturer” type and looks out for everyone. Of course she’s a teenage girl still, so we still get the melodrama and hormones, haha! I’m actually thinking of having a go at sculpture for a change – I always wanted to work with clay but don’t have access to a kiln so I’m looking at alternatives like modroc and air drying clays. I think it could be great. Do you sell your cards? I’d really like to share your blog on mine if you wouldn’t mind? xxx

    Reply

  4. shazzagirl70
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 11:36:51

    Hi Kathy, we are so lucky to have our wonderful children to look out for us. I am a solo mum with a 15 year old boy and he is the bees knees and I wonder how I got so lucky with him. Oh scultpure yes for sure that looks like so much fun and add a creative person to the mix and imagine what you can do. I do understand why they stress “Fun time” so much when you deal with so much pain. I am finding this a Godsent especially on the weeks that I am a hermit and hardly leave the house. Yes please share my blog 🙂 we sound so similar in our reasons for starting and sharing a blog. I see that you have only just been diagnosed a few weeks ago – how are you handling things? Sharon xxx

    Reply

  5. wobblywife
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 20:23:21

    Hi Shaz
    Surprisingly well thanks! I’ve had problems for four years alongside a herniated disc at the beginning that distracted everyone from a diagnosis so getting that diagnosis of CRPS was actually a relief. That sounds mad I know but it was soul destroying getting negative results and doubt off my GP as if it was all in my head.
    Your son sounds great too. Teenagers can be hard work sometimes (I have 3!) but they’re at that age where they can understand.
    I know what you mean about us and our reasonings being similar, it’s really nice to get to know you! xx

    Reply

  6. thebookybunhead
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 13:22:38

    It’s beautiful! Wow, what skilled craftmanship!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

justpaintandplay

Journey of self discovery by Teresa Low Art

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Kaisercraft Official Blog

Inspiring Craft Ideas

EJ Creative Flair

Alternative Jewellery with Heart & Soul

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Living Life Beyond Disability

A World Of Pain....Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

College on Crutches

Rambles of a college girl with RSD/CRPS...welcome to my world.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Paulette's Blog

A Place of Worship: "Tugging at the Heartstrings of God"

Attack of the CRaPS

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

CHRONIC

A Day in the Life....

Musings of a Dysautonomiac

Living life one pill organizer compartment at a time.

jenusingwordpress

Because love and affection is always better from strangers.

lady migraine 365

Trying hard to find my way with a headache nearly every day

In Loving Memory Of Jody Ann Bales

All about living life and dying from chronic pain

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Research and articles related to Chronic Pain from Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome & Fibromyalgia

RSDiary

Just another cavalcade of random bitching... ***Updates SUNDAYS

