365 Gratefuls

365 gratefuls

 

A few days ago my friend had posted an article of Facebook called “365 Gratefuls”.  With a title like this I was easily drawn to wanting to read the article and within minutes had bought a copy of the book online and was eagerly awaiting it to arrive.

http://365grateful.com/homepage.htm

Haley is a Brisbane mum that found that she was feeling down from the ho hum of life and tells the story of seeing a nun counsellor for some help with her depression.  It leads into the nun suggesting as we may have heard from Oprah many years ago about a “Grateful Journal” Anyways as it turns out Haley was a photographer and found that as part of her daily “Gratefuls” it would include a photo as well as a blurb about her photo.  She then decided to make this a daily challenge then her book was born.  She described how as she got further and further into her project that she was finding it harder to just post 1 article a day.

The article instantly resonated with me and my roller coaster of emotions of having CRPS and a very limited lifestyle.  I thought this was something that could very much help me in my everyday struggles with depression.  I am not ashamed to say depression and that I have it, it’s just that most days I don’t give in to it or I manage to keep myself (somehow I have no idea) away from those thoughts.  By no means does this mean that I am not depressed because each night when I take myself off to bed either at 7.30pm or 1am  the last thought that runs through my mind is “Phew, that’s another one down” and I realise that this really isn’t the way other people think.

So it is Day 7 of my 365 Gratefuls project and 6 out of 7 of these days I have been bedridden with severe pain and unable to get out of a nightshirt let alone put on shorts or track pants.  It is a tricky time to start this process when you are feeling so rotten but I am starting simply with….a good book to read when you are feeling like hell…..and the smell of a beautifully scented candle to try and distract myself.

The way I see it, is this can only bring good into my life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 21:59:42

    Awesome honey….xxx

    Reply

  2. Colleen Johnston
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 19:00:59

    I am grateful that you continue to blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

justpaintandplay

Journey of self discovery by Teresa Low Art

National Pain Report

What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

Kaisercraft Official Blog

Inspiring Craft Ideas

EJ Creative Flair

Alternative Jewellery with Heart & Soul

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

Living Life Beyond Disability

A World Of Pain....Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

College on Crutches

Rambles of a college girl with RSD/CRPS...welcome to my world.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Paulette's Blog

A Place of Worship: "Tugging at the Heartstrings of God"

Attack of the CRaPS

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

CHRONIC

A Day in the Life....

Musings of a Dysautonomiac

Living life one pill organizer compartment at a time.

jenusingwordpress

Because love and affection is always better from strangers.

lady migraine 365

Trying hard to find my way with a headache nearly every day

In Loving Memory Of Jody Ann Bales

All about living life and dying from chronic pain

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Research and articles related to Chronic Pain from Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome & Fibromyalgia

RSDiary

Just another cavalcade of random bitching... ***Updates SUNDAYS

